Surfing With The Alien

Art. Nr.:
Release: 15.10.1987
Sonderpreis 9,99 € Regulärer Preis 14,99 €
Auf Lager
Nur noch 1 verfügbar


Weitere Informationen
VÖ Datum 15.10.1987
Genre Heavy Metal


Surfing with the Alien is the second studio album by guitarist Joe Satriani, released on October 15, 1987 through Relativity Records. The album is one of Satriani's most successful to date and contributed greatly to establishing his reputation as a respected rock guitarist. It is his third highest-charting album on the U.S. Billboard 200, reaching No. 29 and remaining on that chart for 75 weeks, the longest of any of his releases. It is also notable for being the first instrumental rock album to reach the Billboard Top 40 chart; Satriani's subsequent album Flying in a Blue Dream (1989) would chart higher, at No. 23. Surfing with the Alien was certified Gold on February 17, 1989 and Platinum on February 3, 1992; this being Satriani's first release to achieve either accolade, and to date his only studio album to go Platinum. Two singles from the album reached Billboard's Mainstream Rock chart: "Satch Boogie" at No. 22 and "Surfing with the Alien" at No. 37. A third single, "Always with Me, Always with You", received a nomination for Best Pop Instrumental Performance at the 1989 Grammy Awards, while the album itself was nominated for Best Rock Instrumental Performance at the same event; these being Satriani's first two of many such awards. Live versions of "Always with Me, Always with You" would later be nominated for Best Rock Instrumental twice more, at the 2002 and 2008 Grammys.



1. "Surfing with the Alien" 4:25

2. "Ice 9" 4:00

3. "Crushing Day" 5:14

4. "Always with Me, Always with You" 3:22

5. "Satch Boogie" 3:13

6. "Hill of the Skull" 1:48

7. "Circles" 3:28

8. "Lords of Karma" 4:48

9. "Midnight" 1:42

10. "Echo" 5:37