Pain Is Beauty / Digipak CD

Art. Nr.:
Release: 06.09.2013
Incl. VAT , excl. Shipping Cost
Out of stock

Article information

More Information
Release Date Sep 6, 2013
Genre Post Metal
Packaging Digipak


D Digipak with 20 page booklet. "Pain is Beauty" is the third studio album from the Los Angeles-based artist and is a self-described love letter to nature.

Many of the album's 12 tracks veer in a decidedly more electronic direction than previous recordings, while at the same time capitalizing on Wolfe's trademark penchant for the morose and otherworldly.

As Wolfe explains: "[The album] becomes an exploration of ancestry, how the mythology, landscapes and traditions of our ancestors affect our personalities today.

Honesty is what initially drew me to music, and I've been more honest and open with myself than ever through these songs.

There is peace in truth. There is clarity in solitude. And there is power within simplicity and focus.

Love is not always easy. Tormented love is something I understand more than society's skewed idea of what love should be.

Love is indelible, severe, earnest, merciful. To push forward against the odds is to make history".

Chelsea Wolfe makes records that transcend time, avoid pigeonholing, and most importantly, allow a glimpse into the soul of a true visionary.

Her work is free of the contrivances of lesser artists, the trivial "concepts" and pandering for attention at any cost.

Hers is a dignified way of doing things, proven without any doubt by the sheer quality of her work.

Pain is Beauty presents not so much an auditory experience as it does an encompassing atmosphere with which the listener can surround themselves, a soul-stirring link with infinity.

"Chelsea Wolfe has a surreal voice that cuts through her foggy, soulful, often haunting rock and folk music.

There's a thorny vision of yearning, heartbreak and death in Wolfe's songs that's striking, yet always brings us back to what makes these bleak themes so appealing, even beautiful." - NPR


1. Feral Love
2. We Hit A Wall
3. House Of Metal
4. The Warden
5. Destruction Makes The World Burn Brighter
6. Sick
7. Kings
8. Reins
9. Ancestors, The Ancients
10. They Clap When You're Done
11. The Waves Have Come
12. Lone