Ironshore / CD

Art. Nr.:
Release: 13.01.2017
Only 4 left

Article information

More Information
Band ONI
Release Date Jan 13, 2017
Genre Prog Metal


Emphasizing Oni's many strengths, Ironshore takes listeners on an absorbing ride that provides ample opportunity for head-banging, singing along, and deep introspection. With first single, "Eternal Recurrence", the band snaps and snarls through a barrage of savage yet controlled violence, counterpointed by passages of unfettered grace, and shredding that is as complex as it is melodic. In 4 minutes and 54 seconds, they demonstrate the breadth of their musical mastery and songwriting abilities, which runs through the course of the album. Lyrically, Jake Oni also refuses to limit himself to a specific theme. "There is no one concept because every song is different. Some songs are about other people, some songs are about me. Some songs are about scenarios or themes that my band and I created. It's about how the song makes someone feel more than anything."

Presiding over the sessions was producer Josh Wilbur (Lamb Of GodGojira), who immediately understood what Oni was trying to achieve. "He brings out the best in our music," Jake Oni enthuses. "He pushes me vocally to get the best performance, and he knows what I'm trying to say, musically, so we get great results together. He's a top-notch producer, he knows the metal genre, and has an ear that is amazing for the stuff that Oni does." Through this connection, the band was able to reach out to Lamb Of God vocalist Randy Blythe, who contributes his inimitable style to "The Only Cure" - one of Ironshore's heaviest moments - as well as naming the record.


1. Barn Burner

2. Eternal Recurrence

3. The Only Cure

4. The Science

5. Spawn and Feed

6. Chasing Ecstasy

7. Kanvas

8. Thrive

9. Coast to Coast