Fire In The White Stone | Digisleeve CD

Art. Nr.:
Release: 25.10.2019
Incl. VAT , excl. Shipping Cost
Only 2 left

Article information

More Information
Release Date Oct 25, 2019
Genre Folk Metal
Packaging Digisleeve
Number 1


Wolcensmen began its journey in 2013 with the release of a 3-song demo CD. This edition of 30 hand-made CD-Rs was given to friends, as Wolcensmen was initially intended to be just a small creative outlet for the man behind the project, Dan Capp. Dan had played in a number of bands; of varying styles, all metal-related, but looked back to his teenage years when he had crafted short acoustic passages of music inspired by the likes of Ulver, Opeth, Empyrium and Wongraven. These long-lost cassette recordings had been praised by friends at the time, so Dan decided it was time to rekindle that old flame. The demo songs were uploaded to bandcamp, and through a series of chance circumstances, Deivlforst Records of Germany took an interest, offering to re-release the demo on cassette with the addition of two bonus tracks (songs that had been recorded as one-offs for compilation albums). The growing popularity of the demo demanded a debut full-length, and with the encouragement of Deivlforst, work began on this in 2015 and culminated in the release of ‘Songs from the Fyrgen’ in November 2016. The reception to the debut album was phenomenal and despite no structured press campaign the initial CD pressing sold out in six months, with overwhelming praise from the underground press.The inspiration for Wolcensmen was always, quite simply, those deeply atmospheric acoustic-guitar compositions which occasionally flowed from within the extreme metal scene of the 1990s. Wolcensmen’s purpose is to draw upon those folkloric moods and aesthetics and to explore the mystical Heathen culture of North-Western Europe. In October 2017 the first live performance of Wolcensmen songs took place in England’s Lake District. Following this, work began on the writing and planning of a sophomore album and further live shows.In 2018, Wolcensmen signed with the Norwegian label Indie Recordings, who reissued ‘Songs from the Fyrgen’ in November of that year, with several new songs and a cover of Bathory’s ‘Man of Iron’ included as a bonus EP under the title of ‘Songs from the Mere’. In 2018/2019, Wolcensmen toured the UK and lowlands of Europe supporting Winterfylleth, and then entered the studio to record the follow up to ‘Songs from the Fyrgen’, ‘Fire in the White Stone’ – a concept album.


1. Foreboden
2. A Gainsaying
3. Lorn and Loath
4. Hunted
5. The Woodwose
6. Of Thrall and Throes
7. The Swans of Gar’s Edge
8. Maidens of Rimeland
9. Fellowship
10. Sprig to Spear
11. Fire in the White Stone