Dead End Kings 10th Anniversary Edition BLACK Vinyl

Art. Nr.:
Release: 11.11.2022
Incl. VAT , excl. Shipping Cost

Article information

More Information
Release Date Nov 11, 2022
Genre Dark Metal
Color Black
Number 1


A tenth anniversary edition of Katatonia’s acclaimed 2012 classic Dead End Kings.

This half-speed master black vinyl version features a superior, sharper, more direct and engaging sound, and includes updated artwork from original artist, Travis Smith.

Katatonia was formed in Sweden in 1991 by Anders Nyström and Jonas Renkse. Their debut album, ‘Dance of December Souls’, was released in 1993, gaining the band recognition for their eclectic brand of gothic doom/death metal, joining acts such as Paradise Lost and My Dying Bride as one of the genre's defining bands. On future albums, a newer, sleeker Katatonia sound came to the fore, starting with a streamlined and structured collection of melodic dark rock songs that became third album ‘Discouraged Ones’. This was to be the main evolution point for modern day Katatonia, where the band stand at the pinnacle of the dark and progressive rock genre. A continuation of 2009’s inspired and acclaimed ‘Night is the New Day’, as well as a leap forward into the unknown, ‘Dead End Kings’ saw the quintet conjure yet another milestone in audial melancholy and angst.

Amongst their most poignant and ambitious material, ‘Dead End Kings’ was recorded at Ghost Ward Studios and The City Of Glass. Anders Nyström and Jonas Renkse took care of the album production themselves, while David Castillo, well known for his previous alliances with Katatonia, as well as Opeth and Bloodbath, was the man behind the album mix.

‘Dead End Kings’ saw the recording debut of guitarist Per Eriksson for the band, together with the new bassist Niklas Sandin. Additionally, Frank Default joined once more on sampling and atmospherics duties, while there is a very special guest appearance by Norwegian vocalist Silje Wergeland of Dutch legends The Gathering/ex-Octavia Sperati. The stunning artwork was supplied, once again, by long-time visual collaborator Travis Smith.


Side A:
01 The Parting
02 The One You Are Looking For Is Not Here
03 Hypnone
04 The Racing Heart
05 Buildings
06 Leech

Side B:
07 Ambitions
08 Undo You
09 Lethean
10 First Prayer
11 Dead Letters