Metanoia - Digipack CD

Art. Nr.:
Release: 04.02.2022
Incl. VAT , excl. Shipping Cost

Article information

More Information
Release Date Feb 4, 2022
Genre Melodic Death Metal
Packaging Digipak
Number 1


Digipak CD

Hailing from Andorra, outstanding progressive/melodic death metal outfit PERSEFONE is known for their band of rich soundscapes and technically precise work that sets new standards in modern extreme progressive metal. Founded in 2001, PERSEFONE has released five studio albums, each one showcasing the band’s myriad of musical principles: high technicality, distinct melodies, plenty of head-turning riffs and musical acrobatics. The band has toured worldwide with notable acts like Obituary and Leprous, has hit stages at important festivals such as Wacken Open Air, Metal Days, Brutal Assault, ProgPower and 70,000 Tons of Metal, and is now set to release their new album, metanoia, via Napalm Records!

After having collaborated with producers such as Jens Bogren (At The Gates, Haken, The Ocean), Logan Mader (Gojira, Periphery, Once Human) and Jacob Hansen (Volbeat, Amaranthe, Epica), metanoia was mixed by David Castillo, who has worked with genre greats like Leprous, Soen and Opeth, and mastered by Tony Lindgren (Enslaved, Ihsahn, Sepultura).

"metanoia sets off with the opulent opener “Katabasis”, drawing dramatic, cinematic soundscapes mixed with electronic influences. The soft, clear vocals of Marc Martins
alternate with sharp growls and pierce through constantly changing riffs. PERSEFONE balances soft passages with intense walls of sound on tracks like “Aware of Being Watched” – in which clean vocals and jazzy sections alternate with intense riffing carried by dense drumming – while solid, rich sound takes on orchestral dimensions on songs such as “Leap of Faith”. Vivid and dynamic instrumentation, tempo and rhythm make up the intense ride “Merkabah”, showcasing the band’s hardest yet most vulnerable sides as screams and blast beats are followed by soft instrumentation – spanning the song’s intensity to its maximum. A special surprise is the 11-minute masterpiece “Consciousness Pt. 3”, which continues a series of songs from the band’s fourth album Spiritual Migration (2013). The album closes with another opulent set of songs, “Anabasis Pt. 1”, “Anabasis Pt. 2” and “Anabasis Pt. 3”. “Anabasis Pt. 1” starts off with calm, dreamy piano sounds, drifting over to the intense “Anabasis Pt. 2” and leading seamlessly into “Anabasis Pt. 3”, gently closing the album with a cinematic outro."

metanoia is an atmospheric and gloomy journey through rich soundscapes. The bands crosses genre boundaries with ease and creates their own cosmos, mesmerizing the listener with a high variety of songwriting and technical precision and proving PERSEFONE’s worthy position in the genre of extreme progressive metal!


01 Metanoia Einar Solberg
02 Katabasis
03 Architecture of the I
04 Leap of Faith
05 Aware of Being Watched Merethe Soltvedt
06 Merkabah
07 Consciousness (Pt.3)
08 Anabasis Pt1
09 Anabasis Pt2 Angel Vivaldi, Steffen Kummerer, Merethe Soltvedt
10 Anabasis Pt3