Hail the Abyss BLACK Vinyl

Art. Nr.:
Release: 19.05.2023
Incl. VAT , excl. Shipping Cost

Article information

More Information
Release Date May 19, 2023
Genre Black Metal
Color Black
Packaging Gatefold Cover
Number 1


Black Vinyl in Gatefold Cover

"THULCANDRA’s rise to power ignited when the Germany-based outfit unleashed their debut album, Fallen Angel’s Dominion, upon metaldom in 2010. The group, fronted by founding member and visionary Steffen Kummerer (also of Obscura fame), have tightened their hibernal grip on blackened death metal since. The desolate melodic emanations in follow-up studio records Under a Frozen Sun (2011), Ascension Lost (2015), and the chart-topping, 2021-album A Dying Wish, dedicated to the late bassist Chris Kratzer, solidified THULCANDRA as a superior force, expertly thrusting the magic and mystery of mid-’90s melodic black-death metal into the modern era.
Their fifth attack, entitled Hail the Abyss, sees THULCANDRA prove yet again why they’re atop death metal’s malefic vedette! Fierce tracks such as ""As I Walk Through The Gateway"", or the uber-brutal ""Blood Of Slaves"", showcase the band‘s affinity for dark, aggressive, and mellifluous metal while the album title track and the epic, mid-tempo rager ""On The Wings Of Cosmic Fire"" rip and terrorize with the intensity of hell. As always, THULCANDRA's about a vibe - there's a distinct ""feel"" to the band's latest album that's distinctly old-school but without the tired trappings of it.
The hotly-anticipated Hail the Abyss is slated for release on May 19, 2023 via Napalm Records. Cooperation with renowned producer Dan Swanö (Dissection, Opeth, Katatonia), who handled the crushing album mix, was compulsory, as was the re-invitation to cover-master Lochner. Don’t fear the reaper—fear the majestic might of THULCANDRA, as Hail the Abyss will see them ultimately rise to full power!"


Side A:
01 In The Eye Of Heaven
02 Hail The Abyss
03 At Night
04 Velvet Damnation
05 On The Wings Of Cosmic Fire

Side B:
06 Acheronian Cult
07 As I Walk Through The Gateway
08 Blood Of Slaves
09 In Darkness We Descend
10 The Final Closure